People can eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, thanks to globalization, humans can undeniably experience a wide range of cuisines from different countries. Some people believe that this trend is beneficial; however, I personally think that its drawbacks outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, it is indisputable that people can derive various benefits from this experience. Firstly, thanks to the act of importing food, citizens from different countries have chances to enjoy products that are non-existent in their areas. For example, it is effortless for Vietnamese to try sushi from Japanese restaurants or pizza from Italian ones. Furthermore, the increased diversity of food provides consumers with exotic tastes and experiences that they have not had previously, thereby enriching people’s life. On the other hand, problems associated with foreign food are noteworthy. Firstly, the popularity of imported food can absolutely have a negative impact on the consumption of local one which is considered to represent a country’s culture. Consequently, the disappearance of domestically produced food may lead to the failure to uphold the tradition as well as cultural assimilation. Secondly, local farmers and producers may struggle to find their markets, which will not only damage their profits but also the economic prosperity of a country. Additionally, there would be fewer job vacancies unless local food companies operate, hence the rate of unemployment will witness a dramatic growth. In conclusion, this trend has both negative and positive impacts on not only human life but the development of nations. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that there are more disadvantages if people continue encouraging importing food from other countries.