Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

While some opine that a sense of competitions between the children is vital and should be promoted, I would argue that working in co-operation is more beneficial for them. On the one hand, people who promote competitions might argue that these activities can encourage children to be better than others. Consequently, the probability of excelling in any field would dramatically increase. A sense of competition can help a child in streamlining his goals and ultimately achieving them. For instance, in athletics if a child wants to grow, he has to compete with two essential things; firstly, his own performance which can help him improve every day, and secondly, the best athlete of his school or class because it can help him set a target for himself as well as a timeline to achieve it. If there is no competition, a child might easily lose track and delay success. On the other hand, I believe that competitions not only can easily create distress conditions among the children, but can also increase pressure to grow faster rather than according to his pace. Conversely, working together can help the children to grow together, and as a result, build stronger friendship bonds. This is because co-operative work can help children understand other children by developing the feeling compassion for them and help each other to overcome difficult situations. For example, rather than competing, if two juveniles can provide a helping hand for the subject in which the other person is weak, both pupils can grow together and also create a strong relationship. In conclusion, though some people give a lot of emphasis to the role of competitions in a child's life as it helps in target setting, I firmly believe that children should work together in harmony as it can benefit both the parties and generate better relations among the two.