Global environmental issues are the responsibility of rich nations not of poorer nations. Do you agree with this opinion.

Depletion of the environment has become a grave issue for the whole world. Many people think that only rich countries should take up the responsibility to work for conserving the habitat. However, I do not agree with this approach and find it as an absurd solution. To commence with, richer countries can take up this responsibility because they have the resources. Firstly, developed countries has much more knowledge because they have multiple scientists and researchers working in the newer areas of study. Thus, there are greater chances for them to find substitutes of existing resources to produce energy. Secondly, the developed countries have the financial resources to fund the establishments of projects for energy production with lesser harm to the environment. For example, the USA has spent a great deal of money on the projects to extract solar and nuclear energy. Such projects have reduced their dependency on coal for power. On the other hand, the underdeveloped nations do not have enough resources. They want their manufacturing industry to bloom and hence, they concentrate only on the their economy without any consideration of environmental damage. But, this way they will end up nullifying all the efforts put by the richer countries to conserve the habitat. Therefore, it is necessary for them to take some steps as well. For instance, they can create an awareness about the importance of preservation of the surroundings, so that their citizens can contribute as well. India has started giving subsidy on the installation of solar panels for meeting the electricity needs. To conclude, in my opinion, the protection of the environment is the dual responsibility of both richer and poorer countries. Even if the poorer nations might not be able to contribute financially like richer ones, but they can spread awareness among its citizens to take some small steps.