People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

Drugs are being increasingly used in every modern community for both legal and illegal purposes. Moreover, this attitude is more popular among younger individuals and not having good examples to follow in their families or even the entire society is believed to be the main reason by Some sociologists. In fact, unemployment and lack of proper guidance are considered to be the main causes behind such a behaviour. Furthermore, when people are young, they tend to be reckless and easily driven by wrong attitudes around them. For example, in the USA, forty percent of Heroin addicts were not employed when they first started using and they were rejected by many business owners which led to their depression and lack of confidence. Therefore, having no job nor a guide could be a major trigger not only for addiction, but also other crimes. On the contrary, many recommendations are readily available and are also effective in fighting drug abuse, such as awareness campaigns and providing job opportunities to the youth. Indeed, these efforts aim to demolish the circumstances that may encourage youth drug abuse to begin with. For example, Lionel Messi took part in a governmental campaign against Cocaine that resulted in a ten percent decrease in its abuse. It is for these reasons, governments should endeavour to spread awareness to bear in mind the negative effects of widespread drug abuse by young people in modern day society. In conclusion, abusing addictive substances is a popular behaviour that is being experimented more and more recently by today's youth both legally and illegally. Although some parents try to be good models for their children, others unfortunately tend to show indifference about that. While unemployment is the major cause behind such a problem, spreading awareness and employing young people are really effective solutions.