Many animals are being hunted to the brink of extinction in order to fulfill the demand and greed of mankind for decorative purposes as well as for other reasons, such as traditional medicine. How can this issue be tackled?

Human life is dependent on the animals. But, human beings have put many animal species in danger of becoming extinct with the unchecked and extensive hunting for its selfish motives such as house decorations, pleasure etc. It is very important to protect the animals and some measures for this cause must be taken. To commence with, the population of the world is increasing and to meet the housing and food demands, more and more forests are being cut. This leads to the loss of the natural habitat of animals, which endangers them. The wildlife plays an important role in the food chain. If any element of the chain is lost, then the existence of elements is endangered as well. For example, honey bees help in cross pollination, which is necessary for the growth of the crops. To protect the animals, multiple steps can be taken. Firstly, the government must educate its people and explain the importance of animals for the existence of human life. This way the community will value them. In addition to this, animals are killed for the ornaments, decorative pieces of art, medicines etc. As an example, elephants are trapped and hunted for their tusks. Therefore, it is very important to save the animals from the brutality. The administration must make stringent laws to punish the people who commit the crime of illegal hunting. Furthermore, it must define the minimum forest cover as well, so that no builder tries to cut the forest to build residential or commercial buildings. For instance, in Coorg, the council has marked the areas to protect the existing forests and the natural habitat of elephants. To conclude, humans are dependent on the animals for food, leisure and money. Hence, we all must collectively take steps to protect them from extinction. There should be awareness in the community and strict laws to punish the ones who go against the law.