More and more people are using computers and electric devices to access information. Therefore, there is no need for printed books, magazines and newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that paper-based printings are not necessary any more in modern society. In my opinion, although these computers or internet-based reading materials have their advantages, printed books cannot be abandoned. On the one hand, there are two reasons why using electrics are very attractive. Firstly, to state the obvious, modern technology enables us to gain message more convenient. We can obtain international news with the click of a mouse, and without ever leaving the home and thus gain a lot of leisure space. Secondly, in terms of time, you can get the latest information in less time. We live in an information age, an age of communication and connections. It means that the less time we gain the information, the better communication that we have. The less reflection time could also boost our productivity. On the other hand, I tend to insist that printing materials can be more suitable under some circumstances. In particular, there is no Wi-Fi or Internet in a remote area, which can impede computers to maximize their benefits. Meanwhile, the printed books are able to escape this difficulty, which allow people from remote areas to obtain information easily. Furthermore, most of the elderly who are behind the times would prefer to use newspapers to acquire news. The old would be more conservative and therefore they are not willing to change the way of their lives, including the acquisition the information, because they get used to read newspapers rather than using modern technology. In conclusion, I believe books or newspapers have to be kept to cater for some people’s needs, especially for the older and the people from the remote areas.