Discuss some of the effects of rural depopulation (migration from the country to the city) and suggest some ways on which this trend could be reversed.

Nowadays, many people are moving from rural areas to the cities seeking better jobs and quality of life. There are several ill effects of this increased urbanization. In this essay, I will discuss some of the effects of decreasing population in villages and also suggest solutions to stop this migration. To begin with, as increased number of people move away from the country-side, it leads to reduced agriculture and farming. Undoubtedly, villages are ideal places for growing food with less pollution and clean water. As number of citizens leave to urban areas, lesser number of people are there to grow plants and rear not widely known; especially valued for its uncommonness rare animals. However, this can be stopped by government’s providing subsidies and privileges to farmers. In evidence to this, in India urbanization increases during the years when farmers can’t make profit from growing vegetables. If this situation can be changed to make this occupation profitable, people would not think of leaving their hometown. On the other hand, as people migrate to urban places, the culture and heritage of rural areas get lost. For example, the rich history of most countries lie with their Inuit people and their settlements. Moving away from their place means slowly losing this cultural heritage. To preserve this treasure, museums and heritage centres can be opened in the remote areas. Eventually, this will foster tourism in these sections, opening new job opportunities and economic stimulus. This would develop the rural areas and people would prefer to live in their own places. To summarize, as people increasingly prefer to settle in developing urban areas, the nativity from rural areas get lost. However, this can be fixed by developing more job opportunities and making the villages, economically active places of a country.