There seems to be increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather tah than Continual assessments. What are advantages and disadvantage?

Education is the utmost need of the contemporary era, so every individual is supposed to do struggle to get enlightenment. But it's a major concern how to evaluate students to promote them in next class and its becoming ubiquitous all around the world assess pupils through annual exam system rather than a continual assessment. Annual evaluation via exams has certain benefits as its aid to make a merit of students and help students to choose a subject for further studies but there will also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit of annual exams is that it would enable schools, colleges and universities to form merit of students. While there is tough competition among the students to get admission in reputed institutes, every educational institute grant admissions to students according to their merit. So students who yearn to prove themselves as extraordinary, struggle and perform better in their studies. Undoubtedly, hard-working children get higher marks. Therefore, the only way to assess the ability of students is the marks and grades, he gets in his annual exams. Another reason that exams would be advantageous that it would assist pedagogues and parents to assess the basic interest of the students. Although, exams include all subjects, that's fresher has been studying throughout a year, in one subject graduate would perform well and would definitely get distinguishable marks as compared to other subjects, obviously it must be a favourite subject of the pupil. In that way guardian and teacher could counsel them to choose that subject for further studies. For instance if a student gets more marks in mathematics in matriculation would definitely choose F. Sc pre engineering. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages of evaluation systems by exams. Firstly, it would be an injustice to judge the students by some selected questions from whole syllabus. And what if a student who worked hard throughout the year and performed very well, but gets sick during the exams or unfortunately met a serious road accident? This plight may deteriorate their whole year. Secondly, exam marks may be some time misleading if student did cheating during exams. A Dull students fail to prepare for exams so they resort to cheating during exams and by using dishonest means success to get higher marks that would be heartbroken for other students. The points I have hitherto considered lead to conclude that while there are plus points for having annual or semester examination system, too much would be lost as a result. So to evaluate students for next class promotion both continual assessment and exams should be considered.