Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals leave the prison, only to offend. This is mainly because of lack of rehabilitation programmes and also lack of employment opportunities for them after completing their jail term. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to curb this issue. Firstly, one of the major reasons for most first -time offenders to carry out crimes again, is the lack of rehabilitation programmes for them whilst behind bars. They are not given the opportunity to learn new skills or develop the ones they have. In other words, instead of developing their moral and technical skills, they are more involved with other criminals and this would only take them deeper into the world of crime. Secondly, when they are released, they have issues with employment because they are stigmatised. Take for instance, the case of a sex offender, they are obligated to write their past crime in their resume so they will mostly never fit into the job market. Some effective steps that can be taken to solve this, is by ensuring they develop useful skills while they are serving time. They most be involved in different quality activities that will assist them so that they are useful to the society when they get out. Also, they should be better monitored by officers when they get back into the community. They should not be left alone as that may give room for repeat crimes. In conclusion, having trained while in prison and close observation for the first few months will ensure the crimes do not reoccur.