One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The science and technology have reached to a different level in terms of health care and medical facilities. Nowadays, people plan for their old age at an early age because they have faith in the science that they will have a long life to enjoy and live. To me, I believe that the person should live a healthy life rather than a long life full of illness, as discussed in this essay. To begin with, the after-retirement plan- people start making plans and saving money for their future trips and activities which they will be doing once they got retired. Once a person is retired, he has the freedom to do whatever he wanted to do, therefore he wants to do every activity he didn’t do at a young age because of time and money constraints. Secondly, living long life implies spending more time with family and this helps in making a good bond between family members. Also, by taking care of their grandchildren when their parent is at work, can do a little help to them. Conversely, if a person is unhealthy and living a long life by depending on the medical facilities, can create a burden for government as well as family. In many countries, for instance, Canada, medical help is being provided by the government, so if there are many older people who are living their life on medicines and healthcare facilities, can create a burden on government which in the long run will affect the economy of the country. Also, if there are more old people than young people, the country will face problem of manpower as old person does not have much strength to do physical work. For example, in Japan, there are many people who are above 80, who are not contributing to any benefits for the country, contrary the government has to provide pension and other facilities to them. To conclude, I will say, the advantages of long life can outweigh the disadvantages if a person is living a healthy, joyful and happy life.