A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The first oil was found by people more than five hundred years ago whereas, only in nineteen century it triggered the start of the post-industrial revolution when the production of "black gold" had reached significant volumes. After that period oil production has been increasing continuously and now we are at the point where the run out of fuel could be touched within the next few decades, While, it seems the best time to invest in the new technology of renewable resources many companies still spend billions of US dollars to find new oil fields and increase the debit from existing sites. The first point to consider is that hydrocarbon production has the highest influence on our everyday life. It is not a secret that liquid fuel takes three-quarters of all types of energy used to produce electricity and to heat our homes. Moreover, the majority of vehicles are equipped with diesel engines as well as ships. Therefore, even insignificant signs that oil production could be cut caused a dramatic economic effect on our life. The second item that should be considered is that the hydrocarbon industry is the biggest taxpayer to the government. Usually, it sounds for each country which has oil or gas production. According to the latest research, it is possible due to the high-income gain that those companies accumulate. That is why, in the case we cut the production or investment in the industry millions of people lose their jobs and billions of dollars will disappear from the budgets. To conclude, I would like to highlight that while it looks obvious to assume that it is an easy task to stop investment in new liquid hydrocarbon exploration. This task is becoming impossible to implement in practice at this moment. As a result, it should be a slow and efficient process which will not cause a disaster in the economy.