People generally know that the environment is important. However, most individuals still don't take responsibilities to protect the environment. Why is this? What should be done to encourage people to protect the environment?

Ever since we realised our powers to harness humour, we have started utilising it to make our life comfortable and more convenient. However, we then began to over utilise this authority and damage humour to an extent that is catastrophic for the entire human race. Global warming and environmental pollutions are threatening our very existence on this planet and yet we are neglecting our obligations to protect the environment primarily because we fail to realise the real consequences of it and believe that it can be dealt with in the subsequent. The first reason for this is our incompetency to understand the dire consequences of climate change. Despite frequent headlines on TV and newspapers all over the world, we are still oblivious of the fate of the world. When we are working hard to save some money to build a house or have a car in the prospective, we cannot fathom how many parts of the world would become unlivable due to the sea level rise and pollutions. If we only knew, we would have taken to preserve quality as seriously as we take our own profession or forthcoming. Moreover, many people feel that environmental problems are too complex to control through individual actions, which I believe is a misguided idea. Another reason we are indifferent towards environmental degradation is our false confidence that it could be dealt with in the prospective. As a result, we are concerned more about solving immediate problems such as housing shortage or traffic congestion than to prevent the disaster that is only predicted to happen in the imminent. For instance, many individuals still believe that the rate of environmental degradation and global warming is not as severe as they are reported in the media, and technology that we will develop in the subsequent would control it easily. These beliefs and attitudes are obviously mistaken and we need to act now to control the damage. The youngsters must be taught their obligations to preserve quality in schools and encouraged to plant trees whenever possible. Besides, the government should adopt stricter laws that would prohibit citizens from using disposable goods that are harmful to the environment. Finally, the government can encourage people to make the environment greener by offering tax incentives and other benefits. To conclude, if we do not want to make our mother planet an inhabitable and barren place, we need to concede the real danger of climate change and act prudently to save it for us and our forthcoming generations.