Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that the communication has changed a lot over the years. These days, traditional means like letter writing is obsolete. I believe modern tech has made our society advanced, and brought us closer, so we do not need letters anymore. Firstly, the way we communicate has improved by technology. This is because we have a lot of options now. For instance, we can now send an email or text message that will reach within a matter of seconds, compared to half a decade ago, where the post would take around a week. In addition, businesses have benefitted immensely from this. The operations that would take months are now completed in a few days. Businesses can now call abroad for free, this was really expensive a decade ago. On top of that, huge machines were needed. Secondly, the modern technology is much more convenient. This is because of the advent of mobile phones. For example, we can easily send thousands of messages from our mobile. The same activity was done by visiting the post office in the past. Furthermore, these days big companies are paying more attention to the user experience than ever before. To put the huge size of these companies into perspective, Whatsapp sends ten million messages in a minute, this is how convenient the new systems are. To conclude, communications will continue to evolve, and I think if it id for the betterment of mankind, we should embrace it.