Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. Do the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages?

The world is becoming a ‘Global Village’ more and more each day. Globalisation has increased the spread of fashion, advertising, brands, food and TV channels so people around the world share the same lifestyle. In my opinion, the advantages are more relevant than the disadvantages. First of all, thanks to globalisation, the more we share habits, the better we understand other cultures and this reduces prejudice against other nations. On the other hand, it is true that having a lot of choices thanks to the exchange of goods, can cause the population to be more materialistic, because advertisements induce people not only to buy their basic needs and to my mind it isn’t a correct human behaviour, but thanks to that, economy moves forward. I personally believe that other countries don’t have a substantial impact on the national identity of another country, for example having the same fashion doesn’t threat anybody. To sum up, I think that we should be more responsible with the phenomenon of globalisation. It can be dangerous, it depends how people deal with it. But most important of all, it made our lives easier.