Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching students to judge what is right or wrong so that they can behave well. Others say that teachers should only teach students academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion

These days, some people are of the opinion that part of a teacher’s duty is to morally correct students, while others claim that teachers should concentrate on imparting knowledge only. In my view, a teacher’s primary obligation is towards imparting knowledge, however, I also think teachers have the duty to correct certain aspects of the student’s behaviour. First and foremost, it is the teacher’s responsibility to provide subject knowledge to youngsters in an effective manner, as morals are different for different people. A teacher cannot make judgements about a student’s religious beliefs, like their choice of attire, customs and practices. For instance, there have been many cases where teachers have discriminated against students' religious symbols, which is against the nation’s rights and freedoms. However, there is also a need for teachers to discipline their students in matters related to racial discrimination, bullying, and gender suppression. Academic institutions usually have some moral and social codes to be followed by one and all, hence in these matters faculty intervention is required. For example, in high school there is evidence of bullying occurring towards Asian kids, which should be noticed and reprimanded by the school authorities. Additionally, children should be encouraged to accept diversity in their institutions. Overall, teachers play a significant role in a student’s life and hence they need to be careful while performing their duties and try and balance social responsibility along with imparting education. However, they should not encourage moral policing in learning organizations.