Cycling is the healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transportation. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

In recent years, there has been a downward trend towards the popularity of cycling in spite of its significant benefits not only human health but also environmentally. Although this problem can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solution can be considered to address this. There are two main compelling factors that could be explanations for this trend. Firstly, due to the time-consuming nature of cycling, it is less preferred. This is because city dwellers who are required to rush to school or work in such bustling area will opt time-saving transportation such as automobiles in order to minimize their commuting time. Secondly, since urban streets, usually have high traffic volume, it is hazardous for people to circulate. In fact, especially in rush hours, if cyclists weave between cars and vehicles, they pose a threat to the safety of themselves and other commuters. However, this problem could be tackled by concerted efforts made by both individuals and authorities. First, it is imperative to raise public awareness about the health and environmental benefits that cycling bestows them. This means that residents will gain more motivation to travel by bike. Additionally, the governmental bodies should construct designated bike routes and lands with the purpose of creating favourable conditions for cycling, therefore, generate behaviour change. For example, in the Netherlands, with a sizable investment in infrastructure for cyclists, thus, has succeeded in making bike riding a mainstream activity and fostering a national biking culture from generation to generation. In conclusion, there are a myriad of reasons why the preference for cycling is likely to decline, yet it could be resolved with the involvement of both citizens and the public sector.