Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There are some who uphold that advertisements stimulate individuals to purchase unnecessary products; however, others hold that promotional campaigns make people aware regarding latest articles which can help them to live better.My strong belief is that adverts are undesirable. Those who hold the view in the favour of advertising, have their own reasons. They assert that not only do these advertisements provide infotainment and recreation to people, but also inculcate moral values among individuals. For instance, Lifebuoy advert flashed on the television screen motivates children to wash their hands at regular intervals. Having said that, there are strong grounds to prove the demerits of promotions. The primary factor is that adverts lead to exorbitant expenditure. When people, especially tender minds watch the promotions, be it in print media or television, they get swayed by alluring adverts and insist on buying it. Sometimes, they pester their parents to buy that unnecessary thing. Only yesterday my nephew was hell bent on purchasing the trouser of Addidas, an international brand of clothes, after watching the promotion on television. Fulfilling every wish of a child is not possible for parents and nor it is desirable. Besides being expensive, advertisements ultimately leads to degradation of the environment. Advertisement owners, mostly exaggerate and distort the features of their products with a view to attracting customers, but in reality such items end up in dustbins or trash cans. Most of the Chinese products are made up of substandard material and inevitably, such items fall into disuse within a short span of time. Obviously, excessive buying than immediate need turn to domestic wastage which in turn ravage the surroundings. In conclusion, although promotional campaigns instill people about knowledgeable products, adverts burn the deep holes in parents' pockets and deteriorate the environment.