Computers are becoming an essential part of school lessons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

In the current day scenario, computers are becoming an indispensable part of school lessons since they act as a plethora of information along with development of interest amongst the students, however, they do create a sense of dependence on them when used excessively. This essay would highlight how these technological marvels prove to be beneficial for the young minds along with their downsides. A major advantage of using this technology in the study space is that it acts as a virtual library where students can access nearly all the information that they need. For example, pupils can get extra details on any subject be it science or history easily with just the click of a button. Therefore, computers act as a great tool and a helping hand in the learner's knowledge. Secondly, when automation is integrated into lessons, students are expected to be more interested in the subjects they are studying. For instance, delivering teaching through interactive smart boards and taking students on virtual field trips as well as using other online resources, surely enhance student engagement and their experience. Thus, smart devices can encourage a more active participation in the process of education, which is hard to achieve through traditional methods. On the other hand, a major disadvantage is complete dependence as when computers and other technological tools are used constantly, students develop a dependence upon them. To illustrate, the pupil who are not in a habit to do math without using a calculator, lose the ability to solve mathematical problems manually which affects their analytical thinking and brain power. Hence, Students must practice these simple skills without any external aid regularly to ensure that their competency levels do not deteriorate. In conclusion, I feel that the use of computers for educating children can be of great use, but should be supervised and in my opinion, there should be a provision for using computers only for a specified period instead of the entire day. This would encourage maximum productivity as well as reduce the chances of addiction.