PERSONAL INFORMATION These days more people put their personal information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers, online for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people share their individual data online for day-to-day activities such as communicating or managing banking transactions. This novelty, like all things in the world, has its own pros and cons, such as the simplification of our lives, as well as the possibility of data theft. This essay examines both perspectives and presents my opinion on whether this development is ultimately beneficial. One of the main reasons why this development can be seen as positive is the above-mentioned process of making our lives more simple. At the beginning of the century, there was no place for personal information in messengers and dating apps, which made communication quite constrained, since people were often disappointed in the appearance or material condition of their interlocutor when they met them in life. However, in the present day, people do not face this problem anymore, since every desired information is indicated in the user profile. For instance, mail.ru has evolved from being a platform for 'just messaging' to one that also includes 'communication and socializing'. Another good reason is related with banking purposes, since putting personal information allows individuals to make purchases and manage their bank account without a need to carry out lots of inconvenient bills and papers. However, this implementation does not only lead to a positive consequences, as there are lots of scammers in today's digital age. Although sharing information about you has its own benefits, this very disadvantage can lead to disastrous results, such as processing loans without your participation by thieves. In conclusion, although there is no doubt that an increasing number of people share personal data online and it can outcome in setbacks, I am a firm believer that it is a positive development and it just needs a little improvement.