1. When children start school, teachers have more influence on their intellectual and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Educational instructors are of great significance in terms of fostering children’s intellect and individual characteristics. However, parents also affect young kids in a various of ways and are no less important. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the given statement as I personally believe the combination of these two parties would facilitate children's development in all aspects. On the one hand, it is irrefutable that children under the care of teachers would effectively develop their intellectual ability. Because teachers are professionally trained in terms of psychology and pedagogy, they are expected to deliver academic lessons comprehensively so children can acquire knowledge about their surroundings easily. In addition, school educators can also teach their students moral values, which are essential for a child’s social development. For example, children can learn from their instructors how to behave well in the family or how to befriend with their peers through lessons given in class activities, songs and fun stories. On the other hand, parents also play pivotal role in influencing a child’s common knowledge and behaviours. For instance, children of musicians are likely to obtain knowledge related to music and instruments from their parents at an early age, which later encourage them to become a talented artist. Moreover, it is the parents’ behaviours that have important impacts on how a child interact with the society when they grow up. Psychological research indicates that young students suffering from parental abuse at home would in turn become more aggressive and violent when they are at school, which expressed the child’s abnormal emotional and social advancement due to mistreating. In contrast, children grown up with well-behaved adults, they would most likely to become a kind-hearted and productive citizens in the future. To summarise, I strongly believe both parties have great influence on children’s intellectual and social development and neither outweighs one another.