Some people believe that modern technology has enhanced sociable behaviour, but others think it has reduced social interactions. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people argue that modern technology has enhanced social behaviour, while others believe that it has reduced social interactions. In my opinion, advanced technology has united us globally but has also made us less connected to the people around us. On the one hand, it is now possible to make a video call to anyone in the world. Therefore, distance is no longer a major barrier to building connections. It used to take two weeks to send a letter from Germany to someone in the United States. Nowadays, we can connect with friends and family instantly. Not only that, but building connections with strangers who share the same opinions and beliefs is easier than ever. Thus, modern technology has had a significant impact on forming relationships across the globe. On the other hand, being able to connect with anyone, anywhere, from your phone has made us less sociable with the people around us. Due to the availability of sharing information and making friends online, many people lack the motivation to start friendships with those nearby. This is because it is often easier to find others with similar beliefs online than in one’s local environment. As a result, there are fewer real-life social interactions, and some individuals feel lonely even when they have many online friends, as it is difficult to form deep relationships over the internet. This shows that having friends outside of the internet is very important for one’s mental health and well-being. Therefore, advanced technology has made people less sociable in their immediate surroundings. In conclusion, while modern technology has connected us globally, it has made us less sociable with the people in our daily lives. I firmly believe that as long as people do not forget the importance of personal relationships, new technologies can help us become more socially connected overall.