Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many believe that competing against others at the workplace, in classes, and in life in general is a positive thing. Others, however, tend to believe that people should focus on cooperation rather than competition. Moreover, it has been shown that cooperation leads to better outcomes for several reasons, such as the individuals' diversity and the workload balance. One significant reason why cooperating with others yields better results is the diversity of people within the team. Team members usually come from various backgrounds and have unique experiences that shape their identity and the way they can contribute to the team. In addition, many organizations adopt the cross-functional structure when forming a team. For instance, an organization building a banking solution will need software engineers to build the digital solution, product owners to translate the business logic, and user experience designers to ensure client satisfaction. Another major advantage of cooperation is that it results in a better workload balance. When cooperating with other team members, complex tasks can be broken down into smaller tasks that are achievable by individual employees or smaller teams. As a result, employees can concentrate on areas in which they have experience. For example, a beverage company that wants to produce a new drink will split the production process and assign designers the task of designing the bottles, chemical engineers the task of creating the formula, and marketing employees the task of designing the bottle's sticker. In conclusion, workload balance and people's diversity are the main reasons that cooperation has a significant positive impact on any organization and in life in general. Splitting the work into smaller units that fit the people's identities and experiences contributes largely to the overall organizational success. Organizations must always prioritise and promote cooperation between employees as this will result in a better work environment that both the organization and individuals will benefit from.