Some believe that traffic problems in cities can best be resolved by investing in urban infrastructure while others feel there are superior solutions. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate over whether the should government invest in urban infrastructure or whether there are superior solutions. Some people claim that good infrastructure will resolve any problem, while others firmly believe that the government should invest in other more sufficient solutions. This essay will elucidate both sides of this argument and provide a personal opinion. On the one hand, I think it is evident that by improving the urban infrastructure we will resolve many problems. Good urban infrastructure means fewer traffic jams, less time wasted while waiting for traffic lights to turn green, safer roads for pedestrians and other beneficial outcomes. Therefore, I strongly believe that the government should invest in urban infrastructure. Nevertheless, one should keep in mind that no matter how much you invest in something, without proper management it will be a waste. For example, in countries like Uzbekistan where the corruption index is very high, the authorities spend huge amounts of money to improve the infrastructure, however, corrupted politicians tend to steal big parts of these donations, and as a result, only a small amount of money is invested to improve the urban infrastructure. On the other hand, some individuals believe that there are myriad better ways to resolve traffic problems. They say that the authorities can enforce tougher penalties for overspeed on the road. This will reduce the amount of car crashes that are caused by overspeed. Additionally, they insist that the government should encourage people to travel by public transport. This will reduce the traffic jams and won't cost any money. For instance, in Germany, many people are using public transport to travel within their town. In conclusion, there are some ways to resolve problems with traffic other than just investing money in urban infrastructure. Nevertheless, I still strongly believe that investments are the best way to solve this problem.