Today, TV channels provide men’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

Over the years, gender equality on Television- sports networks have been imbalanced. I believe this trend has its own reasons; however, I strongly believe that female athletics should be given more broadcasting time. Although gender equality has come a long way, including UNESCO’s recognition of sport and physical activities as a human right in 1978, the gender equality in sports still has not come far enough, especially in TV productions. In my opinion, there are two main reasons leading to this issue. First of all, male’s sports always get more attention from the audience; therefore, TV producers have a wider strategy to display men’s games on their channels. Accordingly, these programs earned more media coverage and sponsorship dollars. Secondly, some people have an argument that “ women’s sports are not interesting enough.” Even though the popularity of women’s sports is growing, some still believe that “No matter how toughened a sportswoman may be, her organism is not cut out to sustain certain shocks.” Take last July’s Women’s World Cup soccer final for example. It was the most watched soccer matches —men’s or women’s —EVER in the US with nearly 25.4 million viewers. Yet the players were far less compensated than their male counterparts However, I would like to mention two reasons why we should give more attention towards women’s sport show. Firstly, the more women figures playing sports, the more female audiences get inspired and practice exercises regularly. It could bring a long-term effect on women’s health and contribute to a healthy lifestyle in the community. Secondly, everyone should be given the same chances to be whatever they want to be. There should be no disparity in sports, nor in the workplace, nor in life. Genders should not be the thing to define us or inhibit us from performing our talents. In conclusion, the dominance of men’s athletics on television has been economically beneficial for the show producers and well-fulfilled the demand of the mass viewers. Thus, for the long-term development of a healthy lifestyle and equal right for both genders, the producers need to arrange a balance broadcasting schedule for both genders.