Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

The increasing number of obese people has become a major issue in many countries nowadays. Obesity may bring out various chronic illnesses, such as diabetes or high blood problem. This essay will discuss the causes and suggest necessary steps to tackle this problem. To begin with, obesity is a common disease in every age and there are some reasons for that. In my opinion, it is caused either by the overconsumption of food or by the lack of physical activities. People nowadays consume a staggering amount of food, especially junk and fast food, instead of eating fewer portions of healthy meals. They also prefer to surf social media sitting on their sofas vice going to the gym. The result of it is burning fewer calories and gaining weight. Besides, there are some aspects which don't depend on us. For example, some genetic and psychological issues such as insomnia, pressure, depression are also the main causes of obesity. However, there are several methods to overcome this serious problem. Firstly, parents are expected to keep an eye on their children's eating habits as well as ensure that they have a healthy diet. Secondly, the government should organize seminars in which they provide information about the detrimental effects of overweight. Lastly, teachers should encourage their students to take part in some sports club as well as organize more outdoor activities at school, for instance, football or basketball trainings. To summarize, obesity is caused by many reasons, such as insufficient exercise or the excess of food. The best way to reduce it is to help people to change these two aspects.