There is a trend in the 21 century in which people are turning to alternative healing like Ayurveda and homoeopathy over allopathic medicine. Discuss the Advantages and disadvantages of this approach.

In today’s world of rising health care costs, people are looking for a substitute to the conventional medicine like Ayurveda, Homeopathy and Naturopathy, which have beneficial as well as adverse qualities. In this essay, I would discuss both favourable and unfavourable aspects of such healing before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, there are several reasons for the alternative forms of medicine gaining popularity. Firstly, there are fewer side effects of these kinds of healing. People are often reluctant to take allopathic medicines due to the harmful consequences accompanying them, whereas the holistic medicines are made of natural substances and thus minimal downsides. Secondly, treatment options in traditional forms of cure are less invasive and cheaper compared to the modern procedures. For instance, patients with cervical spondylosis have claimed to have found a permanent solution with Panchakarma at minimal cost without any surgical interference. On the other hand, there are several reasons why the allopathy is still preferred as remedial choice. Firstly, due to lack of scientific evidence and poor research methodology, natural therapy are considered unreal. For example, Ayurvedic practitioners have claimed to have cured cancer, but due to evidentiary shortcomings, it is mostly hearsay. Furthermore, these therapies do not aim fast relief and are usually useful for long-term and chronic conditions. Natural healing falls short, especially with regard to curing acute medical problems, such as brain injury or internal haemorrhages, wherein, modern diagnostic facilities and immediate relief are essential. To conclude, it is quite evident that alternative therapies have its own strengths and weaknesses. However, the government should invest in promoting science-based approaches to validate fundamentals of the holistic remedy and establish the science behind the medicine.