In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to improve a higher tax on this kind of food.

The growth of the fast food industry has, without doubt, impacted the eating habits and of many societies around the world. Diabetes, high cholesterol, respiratory problems are all on the rise due to sugar- rich and fatty food. As far as I am concerned, I do not side with the ideas that governments should put a higher tax on fast food. From an economic point of view, there are various reasons why it might be considered as beneficial to force fast- food companies to pay higher taxes. Firstly, this seems to be a strategic decision since these companies tend to introduce higher minimum price for each particular item in order to get sufficient revenues to maintain their businesses or at least, not go into bankruptcy. People therefore avoid buying too much fast- food due to its higher price the country will experience a considerably less number of people suffering from health problems. Moreover, in countries such as USA, Australia, the health care system spends a large part of its budget on people with diet-related health problems. Therefore, governments can use this tax income to fund the health care system and pay for their treatment. However, we should also consider which socioeconomic group assumes fast- food as the main part of their diet. Data shows that lower income groups eat more of this food than wealthier people. One possible reason of this is that fast - food is far cheaper than fresh produce. Many governments offer large subsidies for farmers who provide products for fast - food companies such as corn, wheat, beef. Fruit and vegetables, in contrast, are not subsidised. Research suggests that many families cannot afford to buy healthy food or pay higher taxes for fast- food. For them, fast- food is not a choice but a necessity. In conclusion, imposing a higher taxes on the fast- food industry seems to be a good idea but cannot improve the standing situation. On the other hand, this will lead to greater poverty and crime rates as many families face further hardships.