Some people think painting and drawings are important as other subjects. They should be compulsory in high school education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that arts play important roles in people's lives. However, even if the forms of arts such as painting and drawings have certain advantages in education, I could not agree that they should be mandatory high school subjects. On the one hand, benefits from such subjects are only a few. Firstly, they contribute to make a well-rounded student. His or her capacity of emotional feeling and imagination, for instance, could be expanded through the painting and drawing lessons that tough academic studies usually cannot guarantee. What is more, these subjects can be very good stress busters. These recreational activities break the monotony of hours of academic lessons and help students relieve stress those subjects brought to them. On the other hand, the disadvantages of the subjects, once it would become compulsory, are more significant. It is undeniable fact that there are a lot of students not interested in or not capable of such forms of arts. Therefore, it would be definitely miserable and time-wasted for them to enter these classes. In other words, such arts subjects, instead of making learners more creative, keep them stressful and hence degrade their results in other subjects. Moreover, students and schools usually have to meet considerable expenses on the arts subjects. The materials such as papers and paints that are good enough to use for these subjects can be highly cost and, in most cases, are not reusable. In conclusion, I do not think that subjects like painting and drawings should be compulsorily added to the high school students' timetable. However, they can be opened optionally, if there are many students require.