There is less communication between family members of late. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree?

As electronic devices play an increasingly more central role in our lives, it has been suggested that there has been an unprecedented decline in interpersonal conversation not only with colleagues, business associates and close friends, but also with our immediate family. I completely agree with this assertion and, moreover, this is a worrying trend that looks set to continue. Even though face-to-face interactions are possibly at their lowest level ever, it would be foolish not to recognize the valuable role that advanced technology plays. Thanks to it, we can instantly get in touch with any individual or organization, at the touch of a button, regardless of time zone or location. For example, we can follow what our friends have been doing through social media platforms such as Facebook or Instagram, therefore, the rise in delivery via such methods cannot be underestimated. Nevertheless, this reduced contact with our own family is a disturbing byproduct of electronic transmission, and could be attributed to the change in lifestyles, for the current generation. For instance, the previous generation worked in nine-to-five jobs, and went home every day to eat and chat about their day with their families. The millennials, in stark contrast, are frequently employed as digital nomads, working irregular hours, and this lack of routine results in a different way of life of our ancestors. In conclusion, despite the connection being at its highest level, in terms of quantity, the quality of this contact is debatable. Social media updates should not replace personal contact with close family members and interactions should be encouraged by senior family members, by setting a good example for children, such as not using gadgets at the dinner table and instead trying to engage their offspring in more meaningful ways.