Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Nowadays, the question of whether there should be a set retirement age or not is considerably discussed among the masses. Some opine that it’s fair to have a specific retirement age while others deem that it to be an unfair practice since everybody has their own life circumstances and requirements. I am in firm solidarity with the latter perspective as I also believe certain individuals should be entitled to pension, regardless of their age, when they are no longer able to contribute to the workforce. To commence with, people have distinctive life circumstances and requirements that could lead them to withdraw from work at different ages. For instance, if a person is suffering from any life-threatening illness, namely cancer at an early age, they can not work anymore. A person could also have to resign if they are met with a deadly accident. Owing to all these unexpected situations, irrespective of age, citizens should be given the right to receive a pension whenever they are unable to continue employment. According to me, people involved in physically demanding occupations—namely, construction workers, miners, warehouse loaders and unloaders—should be the ones receiving pensions earlier. Provided that their positions require considerable physical strength, it’s much more likely that they will be unable to pursue this work after 50. On the other hand, posts like an office admin or a data analyst, can be continued even after 65 years because these are not labour-intensive. Hence, employees in the labour-oriented fields should benefit from the early pension plans. In conclusion, although it could be equality having the same retirement age for everyone, it does not align with the principle of equity. Despite their age, people should be receiving retirement benefits because of their diverse living experiences and distinctive levels of labour demanded in their different jobs.