In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is injurious to health and especially to the community. Individuals think that such resistance is valid. In my opinion, I contend with this statement as smoking is detrimental to one's health and passive smokers suffer when smokers decide to smoke in public places. Moreover, this restriction aids smokers to quit smoking. The primary reason why making it illegal to smoke in public makes sense as it prevents people from developing serious health issues especially related to second-hand smoke. Passive smoking is something that non- smokers cannot avoid in the presence of a smoker, and it is just dangerous for everyone's health. A ban in public places limits this type of exposure. For instance, after Ireland decided to ban smoking in public places, there was a significant decline in lung diseases and other lethal diseases, leading other nations to adopt similar measures. The second main reason why this ban is required is that it helps those addicted to quit smoking. Since smokers are restricted from smoking in public places, they are left with no choice but to quit for some time. Most people dislike the feeling of being ostracised, but this provides an excellent opportunity for them to quit it for a few hours. Therefore, the social pressure brought by the social bans is cited as one of the reasons to quit smoking by the ex- smokers. For example, flights restricts the smokers to refrain from smoking for a few hours, and it helps them to break the addiction of smoking every few minutes. In conclusion, I think making it a law not to smoke in public places should be encouraged as it prevents innocent people from developing lung diseases, and it also puts social pressure on smokers to quit smoking.