Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Wild animals are losing their habitats, which is occupied by the increasing number of human beings. Some people supported that government should invest money in protecting endangered animals, it would help to keep those priceless biological genes. However, some people believe protect wild animals is a waste of public money because no place for them to live. I am of the opinion that protecting wild animals has more benefits than drawbacks. Animals are more important part of the ecological system and a world with various genes is more livable and healthy for human. First of all, as we all know, wild animals have an irreplaceable role in preserving and regulating the field environment quality though the food chain. Without wild animals, the forests will be attacked by pest and reproductive problems which is caused by no birds spreading pollen. Besides, the genes carried by wild animals have a potential use that might help or even save our human beings in the future. For instance, scientists have found that the immunity of domesticated cows can be improved by replacing the certain gene with the corresponding gene of wild cows.   To sum up, I believe that wildlife protection will bring far more gains than losses.