Some people think that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food, clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue appears to relate to whether children should be given liberty to decide on daily needs or it will create selfish individuals in our society. This essay will shed light on both sides of the discussion and provide my personal view on the matter. On the one hand, children who are allowed to choose whatever they like would struggle with personality disorders later on. To wit, if juveniles are allowed to reach everything without any restriction they might ignore affordability of their parents of what they wish to purchase. As a result, they will become overindulgent and self-centred individuals in the future who underestimate necessities of the family and care only about his own wishes recklessly. On the other hand, decision-making is a critical and crucial skill for a child to acquire in order to succeed in future life and career. Psychologists often express that interrupting youngsters’ choices will cause them to become fragile-minded and diffident. Needless to say, offspring who is able to decide on basic needs right from his childhood can deal with conflicts and challenges in life more efficiently. Besides, deciding on day-to-day basis makes them independent and build their confidence. These practices, make youngsters proactive and aids them get used to take decision and responsibility for any situation and action. For example, if a boy knows why he needs to watch a program without asking anyone then he ultimately develops the skill of what is suitable for him. To conclude, both sides, once debated from distinct angles seem to hold sensible reasons. However, I assert that parents should make sure that children are free in choosing what to eat or wear and how to entertain so that they do not lack self-confidence and creativity.