Attending college is considered to be one of the most crucial decisions of a person’s life. There are several reasons why people decide to embark on university life / college life. College enables people to develop their intellect, gain new experiences and earn respect in the society.

Enrolling oneself in college or university is considered to be one of the most crucial decisions of a person’s life. Students from a young age aspire to join professional institutes for better career paths, social exposure and enhancement of skills. In my essay, I would enlist the reasons I believe that impels people to attend these institutions with appropriate examples. First and foremost, in today’s competitive world, career success is closely linked with educational qualification. In the past, formal education was not the key to finding a job, but, good connections with work-experience would settle one’s life with little difficulty. Nowadays, the job market has become more demanding, wherein, work experience is considered secondary to one’s professional skills and degree. Youngsters are aware of this and join universities to gain skills and prepare themselves for their future career. For instance, a civil engineer graduated from IIT would stand a better chance over an experienced but unqualified worker for a career in the said field. Another reason why people decide to go to college is to enjoy new experiences. The latest trend has been for the students to pursue their higher studies in a city or country away from their hometown, in a quest to socialize with different cultures and face the challenge of living outside the comfort zone. Foreign Universities and colleges in upscale cities offer this opportunity which is vastly explored by the current generation. For example, engineers from India prefer to explore further education prospects outside India which provide a chance to train amongst global students. In conclusion, there are many factors that may influence a person’s decision to attend college, but the most important one is the fear of not being successful and missing out on new experiences in life