People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for instance, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities? Give specific reasons to support your answer

Enrolling oneself in college or university is considered to be one of the most crucial decisions in life. Students aspire to join educational institutes for better career paths, social exposure and enhancement of skills. In my essay, I would enlist the reasons, I believe, that impels people to attend these institutions with appropriate examples. Primarily, in today’s competitive world, career success is closely associated with educational qualification. In the past, formal education was not vital, but, good connections with work-experience could settle one’s life easily. Nowadays, the job market has become more demanding, wherein, work experience is considered secondary to one’s professional skills and degree. Therefore, youngsters join universities to attain specialization and prepare themselves for future career. For instance, any graduate engineer would stand a better chance over an experienced but unqualified worker for a career in any field today. Another reason why people decide to go to college is to enjoy new experiences. The latest trend has been for students to pursue their higher studies at places away from their hometown, in a quest to socialize with different cultures and face the challenge of living independently. Foreign grad schools offer this opportunity which is vastly explored by the current generation. For example, medical professionals from India prefer to explore further education prospects abroad, which provide a chance to get an insight into the global knowledge pool. In conclusion, there are many factors that may influence a person’s decision to attend college, but the most important one is the fear of not being successful and missing out on new experiences in life.