Some people believe that the government should financially support retired people. Others think they should care for themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a fact that when people are getting old, they have less energy and health to take a part in work life. While some people believe that governments should backing elder citizens financially, others argue that they should take responsibility for themselves. Firstly, the government should financially support retired people. One of the reasons is that the retirement pension is limited and often not enough to pay for huge medical bills, such as heart surgery. Old people are more likely to suffer complicated medical conditions. They have paid taxes throughout their working life. Therefore, it is now the government ’s responsibility to look after them when they reach their old age and are no longer in a condition to earn money. The government can give them some discount, for example, when they go to the hospital. However, retired people should care for themselves. The government can only take responsibility for a limited/insufficient time. It would be unethical to rely totally/entirely on them. The government is having a too heavy responsibility while retired people are only a small proportion of the population and the budget is limited.