In many countries people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. why do you think that is? What problem can this cause?

Every year, thousands of people leave their countryside houses to settle in urban centres either within the country or across borders. Some people take it step with the intention of improving their lifestyle, whereas, others seek journey when they suffer from a natural or man-made disaster. There are various reasons for the occurrence of rural-urban transfer and the problems associated with it. Most of the people who live in the pastoral areas are self-employed in agriculture and farming. With changing climatic conditions, agricultural productivity and farmer’s financial security are greatly affected. The city life, not only provides countryside people with better job opportunities, but with superior educational facilities thereby compelling people migrate towards conurbation. Though rural-urban flight can prove to be advantageous from an individual’s perspective, there are some drawbacks that society has to deal with. With an increased rate of movement taking place, there are negative effects on the agricultural industry of a country because the rural development does not materialize. Having a large population in the cities leads to pressure on the natural resources and the services (health and education) of urban areas. Most importantly, due to the high illiteracy rate in rural areas, people are not suitable for better quality jobs and they end up living in slum areas. To sum up, rural-urban transfer is increasing at an alarming rate. I think the government should take action like providing better employment and services in rural areas so that the countrymen do not feel the need to continuously drift to urban centres.