In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. •How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

Utilizing traditional clothes to enrich links with our history is widely adopted in several countries. Representing historical events and figures by building statues is also an effective method followed in various places. I really believe that these are effective methods to address that goal. However, other ways have played a pivotal role in that field. Firstly, outfits are a significant way to keep us related to our history. It is proven that what we see by our eyes stimulates our brains to think what is beyond the senary. For example, a man or a woman wearing costumes belonging to past centuries attracts individuals to read more about that period of time. Therefore, many countries organize events where costumes from old times are presented to help the audience recognize the history of the place. On the other hand, there are other ways to maintain ties with our past, such as constructing statues which represent historic figures or events in public places, and that is very common in different cities worldwide. Additionally, items from different eras which are exhibited in museums help to be in touch with related and far past, like museums in Egypt which display items that belong to more than 4000 years, that help visitors to expand their knowledge of the old Egyptian civilization. In conclusion, dress and costumes have proven effective in keeping us related to our history, and we can adopt other methods, such as building statues and museums, to serve the same goal.