In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?

No doubt that kids at early age love to play most of their time, and combining learning with playing will help them to build knowledge gradually without restrictions. I firmly believed that formal school should not start at four years old which is very early for these children to acknowledge the systematic environment. In this essay, I will discuss my view about supporting formal education at seven or eight years old, and I will explain the reasons behind my personal opinion in the following paragraphs. In the first place, children before seven-year-old need to build up their socializing skills. Mostly, parents or care givers at child care centres concentrate on essential skills such as, eating without help, following the combined instructions and sharing with others. All these skills should be introduced and reinforced in a comfortable environment with no many firm rules. So, the children can get them easily and connect them with fun. Secondly, studying formally at an early age could be harmful more than being useful. Obviously, children in regular schools are responsible for many tasks, such as daily homework, regular exams and fixed rules to follow. Clearly, it is really hard for kids at an early age to understand and keep up with all these duties and assignments, and failing in doing them could create a negative feeling about the school, and could ultimately discourage them from being better students in the future. To sum up, I understand that kids need to learn and gain knowledge in a formal way. However, I don’t believe that going to school at age four is suitable advice for that age. Concentrating on building their social skills is more valuable to do during that early age. Moreover, going to a regular school at that age could have a bad impact on their future. I suggest creating an intermediate phase between the age of four and the age of seven. During this intermediate stage we can introduce some of the formal school responsibilities to prepare these children for the regular school environment.