Some experts believe it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, learning a foreign language has considered as a pivotal feature for better future. It is often regarded that it is more advantageous to start learning a foreign language at an early stage of age instead of learning it at a later stage. I entirely agree with this and I think that it is much more significant for children to learn a second tongue at primary school. In the following lines, it will be further explained. To begin with, learning a foreign language for offspring has myriad merits. One of them is that children will learn much faster and fluently when they start learning it at primary school. Because they are less tensed about the time and their future; the more persons raise, the more they became stressful. For instance, according to a research study at Cambridge University, 60% of children around the world learn faster at an early age stage of their life rather than a later stage. Thus, it is recommended that parents ought to learn their dependents a foreign tongue at primary school so as not to find difficulty in learning it when they grow. In addition to that, there is a relation between independence and educating a foreign language for children at primary school. In other words, if they learn a foreign language at primary school, they can depend on themselves by working a part time occupation, which depends on fluency in a certain language, besides their study at high school. This can lead to having a great impact on their character because of the experience they gain. For example, according to an article published in Alhram newspaper, 30% of customer service representatives are teenagers, and these teenagers have controlled their lives more than the ones who are still dependent on their families. Consequently, it is recommended that public figures aware people about the effect of learning languages at an early age on youngster’s character in the future. Nevertheless, the only drawback of learning a second language is that children may lose their identity. Because when the focus on other languages, they may forget how to speak their native language fluently. For instance, once in a show presented on BCC channel, interviewer Richard St. John said” 40% of youngsters, especially in Arabian countries, nowadays cannot talk their mother tongue because their parent have attached them to international schools, focus on educating them the most famous world language and do not educate them in their mother language ”. Thus, parents have to make balance between learning a foreign language and mother tongue for their dependents. Having illustrated the aforementioned ideas above, it can be concluded that the benefits of learning languages at an early age surpasses the drawback of it, and I strongly believe in this. Consequently, it is recommended that the media give more attention to the effect of learning a second language and eager parents to educate their children.