Studies suggest that the rise in the consumption of junk foods is the major cause of obesity. Some people argue that this problem can be tackled to a great extent by increasing the price of these food items. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, junk food is really common among people. According to some studies, it is suggested that obesity is caused due to the high consumption of fast foods. Some people are of the view that increasing the price of these food items can help to tackle this problem majorly. I agree with this viewpoint as increased rates would lead to less buying of these products who have budget constraints. People are aware about the negative health impacts of junk foods, but owing to its low cost and easily availability they prefer these food items. But what will happen if the price of a product is increased? It's worth for value will decrease as people will won't find it attractive to buy snacks at rising costs. For instance, a normal middle class person wouldn't be willing to pay more than 200 bucks for a simple patty to a roadside vendor. Therefore, it would lead to less buying of such food items There will be a part of society of who can still easily afford junk foods even after cost increments. An alternative method to make them understand is to aware them about deteriorating effects on health these items can have. This can be done through different mediums, for example, through video illustrations or posters. These awareness initiatives will surely help in reduction of inclination towards these products. To conclude, in my view, it is a really good method to increase the meal prices to reduce the consumption of it as this will lead to less availability of such foods to lower earning part of the society. Apart from that, awareness campaigns could also be initiated.