As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Any individual can remain well if he is good for the most part of his life. Most people remain at job most of the time, thus happiness in the workplace is the key to a happy life overall. There are various factors which impact enjoyment at work. This essay will elaborate the characteristics of job satisfaction. First of all, any work is pleasant only if it is highly paid. If workers are not paid well, they might have to do double shifts which would be tiring and hence reducing the overall efficiency at performance. If employees acquire enough wealth so as to secure their future, they will remain stable, perform efficiently and increase the productivity of the company as well. On the contrary, if they are underpaid, they will be looking for an opportunity to quit. Second important factor for job comfort is timely promotion. If work evaluation is accurate and promotions are timely anyone would be contented. This happiness would multiply and disseminate to other family members and the society. Various researches have proved that if workers are not correctly evaluated and timely promoted, they gradually lose their tempo. The third element for workplace contentment is company initiated professional development. For example, a doctor needs to be continually trained and reinforced about the newer diseases and developments in therapy. Apart from these, enjoyment of the job also comes with other significant factors such as flexibility of working hours, official vacation plans and additional financial supports when necessary. However, job satisfaction is individual attitude. Two similar workers might have different levels of satisfaction with the same grade of work and facilities. Actual job pleasure cannot be expected for all the workers. In conclusion, this essay has highlighted handsome salary, unbiased promotions and continued career reinforcements as the main elements defining happiness in the workplace.