inspite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. why is this case? what can be done about this problem

Starvation is prevalent amongst the people in the world, despite the developments made in the agriculture industry. There are many reasons behind it including poverty and poor transport. The main reason behind people sleeping hungry in spite of the agricultural developments is poverty. In other words, these developments ensure the growth and development of fresh fruits and vegetables, but people of lower socioeconomic status have no access to it. As a result of genetic engineering the crops may be resistant to climatic changes and can be transported over long distances, but these factors have raised the prices even further. Hence, poor people cannot afford to purchase such highly nutritious food. Another reason behind this may be due to poor transportation system in agriculture based nations. It is generally observed that the farms and crops are cultivated in villages away from the city centre. A good transportation service is required for these vegetables to be transported to other regions which is lacking in village areas. Hence, the crops suffer damage during storage and transport and cannot reach the deserving people. The problems of hunger amongst people can be solved if government provides subsidized rates of vegetable’s and control the prices at the national level. In addition, the utility stores for low income group can be maintained by the government were only poor people can come to purchase fruits and vegetables’. Another proposed solution may be if the modes of transport are improved for transportation of crops. It can be done either by construction of roads or rail tracks between villages and other areas where the crops are consumed. This will very effectively reduce the price of vegetables as well where local farmers have to pay huge amounts for shipping of their crops. In conclusion, starvation is increasing in the world, despite the modern techniques of agriculture and it can be controlled by special measures taken by government and international level.