“Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

There is no doubt that we live in a world where social networks are being developed more than ever. Modern forms of communication such as email and texting are increasingly popular, reducing the amount of time people spend meeting friends. This has had a negative impact on their social life. I, myself, partly agree with this idea, which will be discussed below. Firstly, in the past, when modern technology had not yet developed strongly if people wanted to communicate with each other, they would choose to meet face to face to talk. If people are too far apart, they will write handwritten letters and send them to each other. Nowadays every home has at least one smartphone and people have chosen to use it as a communication tool because of the convenience it brings. Leading to people gradually change and adapt to using technology more. It cannot be denied that it has caused people to live closed off from the world around them and rarely meet friends for long periods of time. However, the development of technology and smartphones cannot be entirely blamed. They were created to help people, not because they are useful so we abuse them. Next, people's social lives became more or less better when modern technology appeared. A typical example is when the Covid epidemic broke out, we had to stay at home and were not allowed to go to school. Thanks to smart apps that connect us with teachers, we can continue our learning. In short, everything has its good and bad sides, but the main cause is still our own consciousness. If we are more open, if we know how to balance using technology and meeting friends, if we learn to care more about the people around us, then I am sure that our social life will improve. we will become better. Finally, it's not email or messaging that makes people's social lives worse, it's because people don't know how to use it properly. I myself use messaging to communicate, but I always find a way to balance using it and seeing friends so it doesn't affect my social life too much.