SOME SAY THAT IN ALL LEVELS OF EDUCATION TOO MUCH TIME IS SPENT LEARNING FACTS AND NOT ENOUGH ON LEARNING PRACTICAL SKILLS. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

IT IS CONSIDERED BY SOME INDIVIDUALS THAT MANY STUDENTS AND PUPILS HAVE MORE THEORY CLASSES THAN PRACTICAL LESSONS IN EVERY EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION. PERSONALLY, I AGREE WITH THIS VIEWPOINT BECAUSE OF THE ACADEMIC GRADING SYSTEM AND THE INCREASING NUMBER OF GRADUATES WHO TAKE UP JOBS OUTSIDE OF THEIR DISCIPLINE. FIRST OF ALL, THE METHOD OF GRADING USED IN ALL LEVELS OF SCHOOLING IS FLAWED. EDUCATION IS AN ALL-ENCOMPASSING CONCEPT, THEREFORE ITS GRADING SHOULD NOT BE BASED SOLELY ON A CRITERIUM. IF A KINEASTHETIC LEARNER IS NOT GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO EXPLORE IN LEARNING USING PRACTICAL CLASSES, THIS WILL ULTIMATELY HAMPER THE PERSON'S POTENTIAL TO EXCEL IN LIFE. FOR EXAMPLE, IN AFRICA, A CHILD WHO IS ABLE TO MEMORIZE WHAT HE HAS BEEN TAUGHT IS SEEN AS SUPERIOR TO THE KID WHO CAN CREATE AND DESIGN A CONCEPT. THIS TYPE OF EVALUATION THAT ASSESSES THE ABILITY OF A LEARNER TO RECALL FACTS IS WEAK. FURTHERMORE, IT IS NO LONGER NEWS THAT MAJORITY OF GRADUATES THESE DAYS DO NOT PRACTICE WHAT THEY HAVE STUDIED IN SCHOOL. THIS IS BECAUSE MOST OF THEM DO NOT KNOW THE NITTY-GRITTY OF THEIR COURSE OF STUDY. RATHER THAN ATTENDING INTERVIEWS WHERE THEY CANNOT DEFEND THEIR SPECIALTY, THEY OPT FOR A CAREER BASED ON THE SKILLS THEY MUST HAVE ACQUIRED INFORMALLY. FOR INSTANCE, A RECENT STUDY BY OXFORD UNIVERSITY FOUND THAT 62% OF NEW GRADUATES CHOOSE JOBS OUTSIDE THEIR FIELD OF STUDY. TO CONCLUDE, I BELIEVE THAT SCHOLARS LEARN TOO MANY FACTS AS OPPOSED TO HANDS-ON EXPERIENCE IN ALL ACADEMIC INSTITUTIONS. GOVERNMENT SHOULD DO MORE TO CHANGE THIS POLICY IN EDUCATION TO ENSURE A BETTER LIFE AND ECONOMY FOR ITS CITIZENS AND THE WORLD RESPECTIVELY.