Anybody can use a mobile phone to answer the work and personal calls at any time or 7 days a week. Does this development have more positive or negative effects on both individuals and society?

It is true that people now can use their cell phones to answer their personal and professional calls at any time during the day. While some may worry that this may have a negative effect on both individuals and society, I believe that the benefits it brings are far more significant. On the one hand, there are those who believe that there are certain drawbacks when people overuse their hand phones to call others. Their rationale is that these calls can disturb people’s lives. For example, a late phone call may disrupt one’s sleep and make him tired the next day. If this happens repeatedly, his physical and mental health may be negatively affected. Another downside is that if all people have the tendency to call others instead of meeting face-to-face, it can give rise to a lack of social interaction, which may undermine/ reduce social cohesion. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that such phone calls are of great benefit to people’s relationships and working efficiency. The most glaring virtue is that it can help bring people closer. For example, a student abroad can call his family members at any time to confide in when he is homesick or simply lonely. In addition to this, when people can contact their co-workers via phone instantaneously, they can handle their work more quickly, which can boost their efficiency. For instance, in a logistic company, an employee can report delivery problems immediately, and this helps the company update the state of their products to their customers timely. If companies deal with their unexpected problems effectively through such phone calls, this can make a significant contribution to the economy. In conclusion, taking into consideration all the aforementioned facts, I genuinely believe that the potential benefits that instantaneous phone calls made by people at any time bring are more significant for the reasons mentioned above.