Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent to do you agree?

Nowadays, it is really easy for the people to travel various parts of the world.Some people believe that when people do their travelling, it is required to adjust for various types of cultures and norms where they are planning to move.I personally believe having the knowledge of different culture is important if we are planning visit country which has different culture and practices, but adapting to it is culture is purely depend on how long they are planning to stay there. Firstly, some people are planning to go another country to stay permanently, hence they need to familiar with new practices and norms.Unless, it is really difficult to survive there and hard to get contact with new people, not only the day to day life but also in the work place. For instance, in our culture we hug only the closest people, but in western countries they greet by hugging each others. However, there are some situations we are planning to visit another country for a few days such as trips and in this case it is not essential to adapt their culture and norms. Having the knowledge of their practices and culture is enough to visit there. Last year, I went to India with my family members and we visited many historical places and having the initial idea about their culture and history is helped to understand what the guide has explained about their history. To conclude, I can agree with this statement into some extent hence adapting to the local practices and customs is based on how long we stay in a new country.