Advertising is all around us; it is an unavoidable part of everyone's life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is a negative one. Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

As the society is developing, people are concerned about a greater number of issues, advertising is without a doubt one of which that opens a controversial question as to whether it has positive or negative impacts on our lives. This essay will elaborate on the mentioned phenomenon and present my position. On the one hand, it is obvious that advertising has brought many benefits for businesses as well as consumers. As for businesses, it is their main way to approach prospective customers and to successfully launch their new products in the market. In fact, to reach a large audience, deep-pocketed companies, Samsung, for example, spend a huge of money on advertising on prime time television. Therefore, advertisements are instrumental in promoting their new offer to the market. In return, this may generate higher profit and bolster their image which may give them a competitive edge over their competitors. With regards to the consumers, advertising provides them with fully detailed information on both the goods and the services. Hence, they can make a clear comparison of certain aspects of the product such as price and function before deciding to purchase things. On the other hand, widespread advertising can also have some negative consequences in our lives. Firstly, since advertisements have been ubiquitous in the era of technology, people are bombarded with all kinds of ads. Consequently, such information overload has become a nuisance to many people, especially when they are interrupted by ads while watching favourite shows. Additionally, advertising motivates consumers to buy goods impulsively. If they are easily swayed by advertisements, they may purchase things that they do not really need. These products are of little use and can be disposed of so far. As a consequence, it gradually leads to a throw-away lifestyle which has caused many negative impacts on our society. In conclusion, it is true that our life is surrounded by advertisements of various types. Despite the existence of some opinions in favour of the benefits of it, I believe that exaggerate advertisements do more harm than good. In my opinion, this is both advantages and disadvantages as well.