There seem to be an increasing number of serious crimes commited each year. while some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed.

Undoubtedly, there has been an increase in the numbers of serious crimes in today's era. While some people opine best measure to take against these criminals is to give them death penalty. Others believe in taking measures other than death sentence will discuss each side in the following essay. To begin with, in some nation for instance UAE, Pakistan and India, death sentence is a common practice in case of a serious offence such as Rape, murder, terrorism and many more. The punishment involves termination of an individual's life after fulfilling their last wish. Supporters in favour of this practice believe it sets an example and helps in reduction in number of such serious offense. For example: Act of terrorism and Rape are considered to be the biggest crime in Asia and doer of such offense is often sentenced to death penalty. However, some other individual claim that other strategies should be studied and developed instead. Meanwhile, believer of other measures thinks preventive approaches should be taken to reduce high class felonies. penalty like community work or a small term imprisonment could play a better role in reducing crime in the society. Penalty SUCH AS: community work involves completing "n" number of hours serving community it could range from collecting rubbish on the road to working in a factory for free. People opine this would help in betterment of the society. Moreover, it could also lead to change the mindset of the person (criminal) by giving them the second chance. In recent studies by university of Texas unfolds the reduced number of criminal activities by introducing community work as a punishment in some parts of US. In conclusion, although capital punishment works as a deterrent to some extent. other measures play an effective role as well. It is crucial that the government and the criminal justice system consider the effects of each measure before enforcing it.