Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that some people think that films should just be for entertainment, while others believe that they should inform as well as entertain. I strongly agree with the second view that the film industry should not be simply a source of entertainment. On the one hand, many people watch films solely in order to be entertained. To appeal to audiences, therefore, the film industry usually focuses on the portrayal of scenes of violent action, accompanied by spectacular effects. Some people say that we need such films to provide an escape from the stresses of daily life. Although each film must contain some kind of story, these action movies bombard audiences with the simplistic theme of bad characters– often alien monsters – chasing the heroes for 90 minutes. Certainly, the purpose of such movies, such as ‘Independence Day’ or the ‘Mission Impossible’ series can only be to entertain, since they have no serious message or even factual content. On the other hand, I concur with the view that films should be instructive as well as entertaining. Firstly, historical films like ‘Titanic’ or ‘Schindler’s List’ have some basis in fact for people to learn about the past. The target audience for such serious films is surprisingly large, suggesting that many people want films to tackle these subjects. Secondly, even films about the future can have some educational themes to make audiences think. For example, despite their absurd exaggerations, the ‘Jurassic Park’ movies have probably inspired many youngsters to want to know more about dinosaurs. In conclusion, while films should obviously entertain audiences and hold their attention, their purpose should also be to add to people’s knowledge and understanding of the world.